Skip to content

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (JK Rowling)

July 18, 2010

I love Harry Potter!! I’m so sad that I finished the entire series and am out of books again. 😦 But really, this book is amazing. It’s such a satisfying feeling to read the 7th book in such a strong series and to finally reach the moment where everything comes together in the final climactic scene. It’s different than I remember it being, but I think that’s mostly because the only other time I read this book was when it was first published, and since I didn’t know what was coming, I was really tense the whole time and read certain parts extra-speedily in my haste to find out who lived, who died, and what the final outcome was. Because of that, I missed out on a certain level of understanding, a certain degree of detail.

This time around, however, I was able to take my time and let the full meanings of what I was reading really sink in. It was a very different read. Last time, the Epilogue left me with kind of a sour taste in my mouth — I remember thinking it was really cheesy and kind of spoiled things. Oddly enough, this time around I didn’t think so, although I still find the kids’ names weird. But I’m glad I read it (I almost didn’t, I was so unimpressed by it the last time) and I find myself contemplating what I think Harry, Hermione, Ron, Ginny, Luna, etc. all went on to do with their lives. I do like that Neville was the Herbology professor at Hogwarts — that seemed fitting. I kind of like that Rowling didn’t tie everything off in a neat little bow (which is precisely what I my complaint was the first time I read this part) but instead left a lot open for interpretation. Leaves some stuff to the imagination. Of course, now I can’t wait to see the movie.

I have my theories about where they’re going to divide the 7th book for the film (since rumor has it it’s been broken into two separate films). I figure it’s gotta be when Ron returns to Harry and Hermione, and they destroy the locket Horcrux. It’s the only place that really makes logical sense to me, but then again, who says Hollywood will go with logic? In any case, now I’m off to read other books, and to mourn the completion of that wonderful series I love so much. Perhaps I’ll read it again next year….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

